DirectorSpeak

Interviews with NYC's Indie Theatre Directors

Rant #1: Bye-bye Strainer

Heya,

I don’t generally get violent.

I’m not saying that I’m not a violent person, because I think everyone can be violent in the right circumstances, and I’ve been in those circumstances, and well…I was.

I’m just saying that I don’t get violent very often. In fact, it’s been years. I’ve worked hard to search for a sense of balance in my life, and 98% of the time I do very well. (Hummmm… topic for another post – the pros and cons of “balance” in an artist’s life.)

I need to buy a new strainer. Mine is… crumpled. It’s crumpled because I beat the hell out of the counter top with it. I was using the strainer because my juicer let some pulp through and the BF doesn’t like pulp. And the strainer was full, so juice was leaking over the side. Fine, another freakin’ puddle to clean up. I say “another” because the juicer has also started spouting juice out the back side. Leaking all that goodness all over my counter top! Makes me a not-so-very-happy camper. But no, that’s not what lead to the death of the strainer.

It was the preaching. Arrrgh!

Look, I have nothing against the church… well, okay, actually I have a lot against the church -any church- but that’s not what’s relevant here. What’s relevant is the preaching. And the singing. Both of which are amplified. And they have the doors open!

Quick – look at the calendar. That’s right – IT’S SATURDAY! I’m being forced to listen to amplified preaching, in French-ish, ON. A. SATURDAY. And it will happen again tomorrow.

Their church is small. There is no need for amplification. Or they could shut their doors. But it’s so nice out – I’m sure they’d prefer to have the doors open…WELL SO WOULD I!

But if I don’t want to listen to them, I have to close my windows AND turn on the air conditioner (which, incidentally, costs me money.)

I abhor rudeness, and I think this is a classic example of it. They have no care about who they are bothering. Indeed, they probably feel they are “spreading the word.” A friend recently shared a term -Sound Bullying- which I think holds true here. I’m going to call them and complain.

But first, I have to go buy a new strainer.

Peace,
Cat

5 comments on “Rant #1: Bye-bye Strainer

  1. Janine
    June 23, 2012

    Cat-1, Strainer-0. …plastic perhaps for the new one?!?

    • Cat
      June 23, 2012

      JANINE! You’re my first commenter! Whoo-hoo!

      • Janine
        June 24, 2012

        And I will live in INFAMY!!!!

  2. Eric of Kingwood
    June 27, 2012

    I can totally see you doing this! And I laugh out loud just imagining the bloody (metaphoric) aftermath…this blog is great… The Texas boys will be lurking!

    • Cat
      June 28, 2012

      Yeah, it wasn’t pretty, LOL. But I pick my battles. Didn’t damage anything I can’t live without. Thanks for commenting!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 23, 2012 by in Rants.
