DirectorSpeak

Interviews with NYC's Indie Theatre Directors

Introducing JR

He KNOWS he’s not supposed to be on the bed but…..

Heya!

The first post in “Dog-a-licious” HAS to be about our boy, JR. JR is a rescue from the Brooklyn Animal Care & Control Center. We got him in February 2011. I’d like to say that we picked him, but HE picked us – or rather, he picked George. From the moment the two of them met, there was never any doubt that he was coming home with us. Oh, we looked around the other kennels, but he kept his eyes glued to us, and we were hooked. He was 5 years old, and had lived with a family and his sister (Pattycake was her name, I’m told, and she was adopted long before we found JR) all that time, and was then taken to the “shelter” because his family was moving to a place that didn’t take dogs. [Please, don’t even get me started on this topic, or this post will end up in the “Rant” category!] He was a skinny, sad hound, slated for death row – until the cavalry arrived in the form of me and George.

Although JR was considered a “senior” dog by the ACC, and thus a bargain price to adopt, we soon found out that our little boy was a star, and that his appearance on the NBC Today Show made him cost worth much more! Fortunately, we agreed, and since George works in TV as well, it just seemed like one more indication that he was meant to be with us. Although we had agreed that dogs were not be allowed on the furniture, JR wasn’t in our apartment for 30 minutes before he was up on the couch. He now has “his” spot on the couch, a bed in the living room, a bed in the bedroom, and – as you can see from the picture above – he has no qualms about adding our bed to his list. I say I don’t like it, but really, I come from a long line of people that spoil our pets!

Today, JR is fatter, sassier and very talkative. If I can figure out how to add video to this blog, I’ll let you hear him “speak” someday. He gets us out for walks, keeps us warm in the winter, checks on us when we’re upset, shares bags of popcorn and generally lives the life of Reilly. Is he a working dog? Yes – his job is to keep us happy and he is very, very good at that. If you don’t have a dog in your life, I encourage you to rescue one from your local shelter, you will never regret it. And if you can’t do that, volunteer at your local shelter – god knows they need all the help they can get! And if you can’t do that, donate. The dogs will appreciate it, and this Cat will, too.

Peace,
Cat

8 comments on “Introducing JR

  1. Connie "C J" Martin
    July 17, 2012

    I too adopted a senior dog, about 2 years ago and have never been so happy. He keeps me active with several walks during the day, so I get some fresh air and sunshine. He is deaf, and as a result watches my every move to get an indication as to what is going to happen. I wish some of my actors were able to do the same. I agree that everyone looking for a pet, should check out the local animal shelter. There you will find love and devotion wrapped up with wet kisses and a wagging tail.
    C J

    • Cat
      July 20, 2012

      There’s love and then there’s doggie love. I, for one, am enamored by the latter – and it sounds like you’ve been bitten by that lovebug too! Thanks for reading, CJ!
      Peace
      Cat

  2. Eric J
    July 18, 2012

    I currently have a pug, but of the four dogs I had when I lived in CO, my favorite was a beagle mix from the pound, named Doink (I think because he bumped into something when we first got him, but I forget). He was my constant companion on walks and even hikes through canyons outside of Denver. As is also common with mixed breeds, he was also healthy as a….. (horse? I don’t know. Are they really all that healthy these days?).

    • Cat
      July 24, 2012

      “Doink!” I love that! JR always ‘pokes’ things with his nose, and then gets an expression on his face like it was a ‘doink!”

      Peace
      Cat

  3. Cat
    July 20, 2012

    Beagles are such intelligent dogs. Way too energetic for me, most of the time, but still great dogs. And pugs, well… yeah, I guess they’re dogs, too. (LOL!)
    Peace
    Cat

  4. Tina
    July 21, 2012

    Love my doggies and kitties, Amy is 11 this year. Vet. put her on another food, she has gained from 6lbs to 9 lbs! I really don’t see this as helping. She is a yorkie, and knows me head to toe. She is losing her hearing and teeth..She sleeps most of the time now days. I love this breed..I have been told she barks the whole time I am away. I know this is true,,because , she can’t speak when I get back..any clues anyone on how to get her to stop!?

    • Cat
      July 24, 2012

      Tina, I’ll email you some hints!
      Peace
      Cat

    • Eric J
      July 26, 2012

      The only thing I know that could possibly help is leaving radio or TV on while you’re away to keep her company. i do this with my dog because she did the same thing, but I think it was because she was unfamiliar with her surroundings when she was new. After 11 years, it may be something else, though. Maybe keeping her away from the front door so she can’t hear people walking back and forth down the hallway (if you live in an apt)?

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on June 16, 2012 by in Dog-a-licious!.
